|The templar is both a mighty warriors and a pious|
Alignment: A templar's alignment must be within one step of his deity's, along either the law/chaos axis or the good/evil axis.
Orders: Most templars seem to be members of the Order of the Shield, the Order of the Star, or the Order of the Sword.
Domain (Su): At 1st level, a templar gain access to one of his chosen deity's domains, gaining the granted ability of that domain at their respected levels. He treats his total cavalier level as his effective cleric level for these abilities. This ability replaces the mount ability.
Templar's Charge (Ex): At 3rd level, a templar learns how to fight the enemies of his faith more effectively. The templar receives a +4 bonus on melee attack rolls on a charge against enemies who possess an opposing alignment to him. A good templar only gains this benefit when charging evil creatures, while an evil templar receives it against good creatures. A neutral templar gets to choose whether it works against evil or good creatures, but once the choice is made, it cannot be changed. In addition, the templar does not suffer any penalty to AC after making a charge attack against enemies of an opposing alignment. This ability replaces the normal cavalier's charge ability.
Channel Energy (Su): At 4th level, a templar gains the ability to channel positive or negative energy as if he were a cleric (Core Rulebook pg. 40), except the templar's effective cleric level is equal to his cavalier level -3. He can use this ability a number of times per day equal to 3 + his Charisma modifier. This ability replaces the expert trainer ability.
Templar's Mighty Charge (Ex): At 11th level, a templar learns to make devastating charge attacks against the enemies of his faith. Double the threat range of any weapons wielded during a charge against an enemy of an opposing alignment. This increase does not stack with other effects that increase the threat range of the weapon. In addition, the templar can make a free bull rush, disarm, sunder, or trip combat maneuver if his charge attack is successful. This free combat maneuver does not provoke an attack of opportunity. This ability replaces the normal mighty charge ability.
Templar's Supreme Charge (Ex): At 20th level, whenever the templar makes a charge attack against an enemy of an opposing alignment, he deals double the normal amount of damage (or triple if using a lance). In addition, if the templar confirms a critical hit on a charge attack with an enemy of an opposing alignment, the target is stunned for 1d4 rounds. A Will save reduces this to staggered for 1d4 rounds. The DC is equal to 10 + the templar's base attack bonus. This ability replaces the normal supreme charge ability.